aborreca's picture

Member Info

Art Borreca

Job Title: Co-Head, Iowa Playwrights Workshop--MFA Programs in Playwriting & Dramaturgy
Organization affiliation:

University of Iowa

Location: Iowa City, IA
Member since: 1990

BA, English and Theatre Arts, Oberlin College, 1981
MFA, Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism, Yale School of Drama, 1986
DFA, Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism, Yale School of Drama, 1993


Art Borreca is Associate Professor of Theatre Arts at the University of Iowa. He is Co-Head (with Dare Clubb) of the Iowa Playwrights Workshop, the Department's long established MFA Program in Playwriting, and of the MFA Program in Dramaturgy. He co-founded the Dramaturgy Program in 1999, building on a tradition of dramaturgy initiated within the Playwrights Workshop by its founder, Oscar Brownstein, in the 1970s.

Art has worked as a dramaturg with a number of leading theatre artists, including Athol Fugard, Wole Soyinka, Theodora Skipitares, Rinde Eckert, Naomi Wallace, and David Hancock, in such venues as the Yale Repertory Theatre, New York Theatre Workshop, LaMama ETC, Oxford Stage Company, T.P.T. (Theatre Project Tokyo), and the University of Iowa’s Partnership-in-the-Arts program, which develops new work through professional residencies. He is also a Core Member of the Faculty in Dramaturgy in the Hollins Playwrights Lab, the low residency MFA Program in Playwriting at Hollins University.

Art's articles and reviews have appeared in such journals as TDR (The Drama Review), Modern Drama, and Theatre Journal; and in several books, including Dramaturgy in American Theatre, What is Dramaturgy? Approaching the Millennium: Essays on Angels in America, and Embodied Dialogues: The Theatre of Naomi Wallace, He was a Consulting Editor on the two-volume Norton Anthology of Drama.

While providing the training needed to work as dramaturgs on works of all periods and types, the Iowa Dramaturgy Program focuses on the training of dramaturgs with special skills in the development of new work. The program is closely associated with the Iowa Playwrights Workshop, whose alumni include Tennessee Williams, Lee Blessing, Sherry Kramer, Charles Smith, John O'Keeffe, David Hancock, Naomi Wallace, Lisa Schlesinger, Rebecca Gilman, David Adjmi, Kirsten Greenidge, Samuel D. Hunter, and Jen Silverman - among many others.

Alumni of the Dramaturgy Program have held positions as literary managers and dramaturgs at such theatres as Actors Theatre of Louisville, Long Wharf, Williamstown Theatre Festival, Wooly Mammoth, The Lark, and Signature Theatre, and have freelanced extensively in the world of new play development.

Areas of Expertise:

Modern British and American Drama, esp. Postwar British
Brecht and Brechtian Theatre
Political Theatre
Historical Drama, esp. Postwar British

Recent Work:

Artistic Director, Iowa New Play Festival, since 1998
Dramaturgy and directing in Hollins Playwrights Lab and Festival of New Works, Hollins University/Mill Mountain Theatre, 2012, 2014, 2016

User login