The Southeast Region comprises TN, NC, SC, GA, AL, MS and LA an area also served by the Southeastern Theater Conference (SETC), We are anchored by a handful of LORT theaters (Playmakers Repertory Company in Chapel Hill, NC; The Alliance Theatre in Atlanta, GA; Asolo Repertory Theatre and Florida Studio Theatre in Sarasota, FL; Maltz Jupiter Theatre in Jupiter, Florida; and the Alabama Shakespeare Festival in Montgomery, AL), an array of esteemed educational theater institutions and an ever growing community of independent companies and artists making a diverse array of work influenced in no small measure by a wide range of southern cultures and experiences. The number of opportunities for dramaturgs are growing by leaps and bounds as institutions large and small invest new efforts in developing the world of local and regional playwrights.

The Alliance sponsors the Kendeda Graduate Playwriting Competition and since the summer of 2001, it has hosted The Collision Project which invites a group of teens from metro Atlanta to explore and explode a classic text with guidance of a professional playwright and director. The Southern Writers' Project Festival of New Plays (and its recent off-shoot the Young Southern Writers Project One-Act Play Competition) happens each spring at Alabama Shakespeare Festival. New Orleans' Southern Rep Theatre develops new work with their 6X6 new play slam; 3X3: The One Acts series, the New Play Bacchanal and by sponsoring The Ruby Prize, a $10,000 award for new work by women playwrights of color. This region is also home to the Ingram New Works Lab at the Nashville Repertory Theatre, an event whose 2014 line-up was livestreamed on For the past two years, the South Florida Theatre League has produced a Summer Theatre Reading Series as part of their Summer Theatre Festival, featuring readings of new work at member theaters across southern Florida every Monday evening from June until August.

Regional VP:

Sloan Elle Garner

Information about events and activities:

LMDA Southeast Region Facebook Group

States Covered:

Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, eastern North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, southern Tennessee


User login