2023 Elliott Hayes Award

Application Information 

Named in honor of Elliott Hayes, the former dramaturg and literary manager at The Stratford Festival and a dual citizen of Canada and the USA, this award recognizes excellence in dramaturgical work on a specific project over the past two years. Eligible projects may include, but are not limited to, production, season planning and implementation, educational programming, or advocacy for the profession.

The recipient of the 2023 Elliott Hayes Award, presented at the annual LMDA conference, will receive $1000 US and a travel stipend to the following LMDA conference. 

There is no application fee. Applications will be evaluated through an anonymous application process. The application is open to all.

Applications will be accepted from February 15 at 12:00 AM PST through April 5, 2023, at 11:59 PM PST. All applicants will be notified of the panel decision and the winner will be notified by May 15, 2023. However, the public announcement will be kept private until the presentation of the award at the LMDA Conference in Summer 2023.

Application Guidelines 

  • For the purposes of this application, if you self-identify as a dramaturg, you are a dramaturg. If you come from a culture that does not view dramaturgy as separate from other parts of the creative process, or does not have a word for dramaturgy, and you feel your work fits within the rubric above, please contact us at awards@lmda.org to speak further.
  • All applications must meet the above-mentioned standards for eligibility.
  • Only one application per person.
  • Although we welcome applicants from anywhere in the world, the application must be in English or Spanish.
  • The application must be a minimum of 500 and a maximum of 4000 words. There will be no reward for brevity nor punishment for length. Within the already stated boundaries, the essay should be exactly as long as it takes for you to make a strong, clear, and cogent argument for the nomination you are putting forth.
  • At this time, we do not have the capability to review secondary materials such as videos or slideshows. Although their inclusion will not disqualify an application, they will not be reviewed. No letters of reference are needed - nor will they be read if sent. As well, please do not include a resume in your application, as we are concerned with only the strength of your proposal and what currently engages you, not your history.
  • In order to facilitate the anonymous application process, you must provide two separate documents in.doc or.docx format - the first discussing the work with no identifying information (including the name of the work, your name or the name of the person you are nominating, or the city, state or country in which the event took place. In other words, nothing can be included which is searchable on Google or any other search engine. The phrases "the work”, “the director”, and “the process” are all fine substitutes. The second document will include all of the identifying information not present in the first, including your name and contact info or the name and contact information of the person/work you are proposing. Your application will be reviewed by a panel of dramaturgs who represent the extraordinary talent and diversity found within our profession. As VP of Grants and Awards, we are the only persons who will see the identifying information, and the panelists will not know the identity of the winner until after a decision has been reached.
  • Although you are welcome to propose the work of others, that other person must be known to you, you must have had a real-life interaction with said person, and you must be able to provide contact information for them.
  • Any project you propose cannot have been completed before July 1, 2022. It is fine if the project is still underway. Ideally, it should be completed by December 31, 2023, though exceptions may be made for extraordinary work.
  • Each project may only be proposed once for the Elliott Hayes Award. While there is no limit to the number of years in a row one can apply (see note below), each year must feature a new project.
  • The winner of the award must appear at two conferences, either in person or virtually (using an application such as Skype.) The first appearance would be to accept the award, and the second to present it to the next year’s winner.
  • The winner of the Elliott Hayes Award is required to sit on the next year’s adjudication panel.

Note: If you have won or received a special commendation for the Elliott Hayes Award, you may not reapply for three years.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact Roxanne Ray, VP of Grants and Awards, at awards@lmda.org

We look forward to your consideration!

To Submit:

Send your essay without identifying information in PDF format per the instructions here and a separate PDF with all of the identifying information outlined here to awards@lmda.org.

If you don't receive an acknowledgement of your application within 48 hours, please contact admin@lmda.org.

Previous Recipients

Previous recipients of the Elliott Hayes Award include:

2022: Duska Radosavljevic

2021: Arminda Thomas

2020: Emma Tibaldo

2019: Anne G. Morgan

2018 Magda Romanska; honorable mentions: Ness Roque and Kaite O’ Reilly

2017 Nandita Dinesh; honorable mentions: Nanako Nakajima and Hanna Slättne

2016 Sarah Garton Stanley

2015 Nakissa C. Etemad

2014 Ilana Brownstein

2013 Jimmy Noriega

2012 Douglas Langworthy

2011 D.J. Hopkins

2010 Robyn Quick

2009 Brian Quirt

2008 Ilana Brownstein

2007 Edward Sobel

2006 Melinda C. Finberg and Amy Steele 

2005 Lee Devin

2004 Scott Horstein

2003 Brian Quirt, Mallory Catlett

2002 Megan Monaghan and Freddie Ashley

2001 Judith Rudakoff

2000 Rebecca Rugg, Lynn M. Thomson

1999 Michele Volansky, Lue Morgan Douthit

Grants and Awards

User login