Leon Katz Award for Teaching & Mentoring

The Leon Katz Memorial Celebration Committee has chosen LMDA as the recipient of a yearly fund for a new award honoring the legacy of Dr. Leon Katz.  

Become a Panelist

What is a panelist?  Someone who evaluates grant proposals and takes part in the adjudication of a recipient.                                 Why be a panelist?  

Bly Creative Capacity Grant Program



** We are not currently accepting applications. Stay tuned for updates. **

GE Lessing Award for Career Achievement

LMDA‘s Gotthold Ephraim Lessing Award is our most prestigious tribute, given for a lifetime of achievement in the field of dramaturgy.

The Award has been conferred upon:  

Geoff Proehl, 2016

Morgan Jenness, 2015

DD Kugler, 2011

Mark Bly, 2010

Michael Lupu, 2006

Arthur Ballet, 2002

Anne Cattaneo, 1998

Elliott Hayes Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dramaturgy - application period now open!

Welcome to the 2019 Elliott Hayes Award, from VP of Grants and Awards, Bernardo Mazón Daher!

Application Information

Named in honor of Elliott Hayes, the former dramaturg and literary manager at The Stratford Festival and a dual citizen of Canada and the USA, this award recognizes excellence in dramaturgical work on a specific project over the past two years. Eligible projects may include, but are not limited to, production, season planning and implementation, educational programming, or advocacy for the profession.

ECD Residency Grant

The ECD Residency Grant - DEADLINE EXTENDED!

Dramaturgy-Driven Grants


Conspiracy - a word derived in 1836 from the English conspire.

Conspire, first appearing in 1300, is itself derived from the Latin conspirare, which means "to breathe together."

Dramaturgy-Driven Grant  - Money given to support a plan hatched by a dramaturg.

Read us into your conspiracy. Let us know the plan. If we are interested you will be contacted.


User login